top of page

The Beatles' 1

Release: November 14, 2000

UK Catalogue: Apple 529 9702 (CD) ● Apple 529 3251 (LP) ● Apple 529 9704 (UK Cassette)

US Catalogue: Apple/Capitol CDP-5-29325-2


2011 remastered CD release. Apple 50999 083070 2 6

Side 1 (1962–64)


  1. Love Me Do

  2. From Me To You

  3. She Loves You

  4. I Want To Hold Your Hand

  5. Can't Buy Me Love

  6. A Hard Day's Night

  7. I Feel Fine

  8. Eight Days A Week


Side 2 (1965–66)


  1. Ticket To Ride

  2. Help!

  3. Yesterday

  4. Day Tripper

  5. We Can Work It Out

  6. Paperback Writer

  7. Yellow Submarine

  8. Eleanor Rigby

Side 3 (1967–68)


  1. Penny Lane

  2. All You Need Is Love

  3. Hello, Goodbye

  4. Lady Madonna

  5. Hey Jude


Side 4 (1969–70)


  1. Get Back

  2. The Ballad Of John & Yoko

  3. Something

  4. Come Together

  5. Let It Be

  6. The Long and Winding Road

The Beatles:

  • John Lennon: Vocals, guitars, keyboards, harmonica

  • Paul McCartney: Vocals, bass, piano, acoustic guitar, drums on "The Ballad of John & Yoko"

  • George Harrison: Guitars, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Something"

  • Ringo Starr: Drums, percussion, lead vocals on "Yellow Submarine"


Additional Musicians:

  • George Martin: Piano on "A Hard Day's Night" and "Penny Lane"

  • Andy White: Drums on "Love Me Do"

  • Billy Preston: Organ on "Let it Be", Electric Piano on "Get Back"

  • Mal Evans: Bass drum on "Yellow Submarine"

The Beatles' 1  debuted at #1 in Canada, Germany, the U.S. and the U.K. and sold in excessive of 500,000 copies it's first week n the U.S. In the U.K. it sold over 300,000. This helped the Beatles have a #1 album in their first 5 decades - the 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's and 2000's. By the time The Beatles released their 2009 remasters, The Beatles' 1 was reported to have sold 31 million copies, making it their second most successful album - bested only by Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.


The Beatles' 1 hit #1 in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the U.K. and the U.S. in France the album only hit #10 and in Brazil it went to #5. The Beatles' 1 would go to #1 in Korea in 2011 and #6 in the U.K. and #4 in the U.S. Ironically, it would hit again in France at #10 in 2011.

The Beatles' 1  was released as the 6th "new generation" CD, after Live At The BBC  in 1994, Anthology 1 in 1995, Anthology 2 and Anthology 3  in 1996 and the Yellow Submarine Songtrack  in 1999. It would be followed by Let It Be...Naked  in 2003 and Love  in 2006 before the 2009 remasters hit the stores.


The songs on The Beatles' 1 were specifically remastered for this set, but came with criticism for it's poor sound quality - especially after the exceptional Yellow Submarine Songtrack a year before. However, the 2011 remaster would fix this issue - using the 2009 remasters to re-compile this set.

The Beatles' 2

Let's suspend belief for a moment and image that this album has a companion piece released maybe the same year, or maybe just after. That companion, logically, would be called, Beatles' 2. And the contents of that album would be the b-sides to the original 27 tracks. And it would like this:

 I took the 2009 remasters and compiled the set without a cover, but I would imagine using the opposite colors - maybe a yellow cover, red painted-looking '2' and The Beatles logo in the same pink.

But there you go, just a little food for thought. This may be a good entry in my Beatles Fantasy portion of the site. Check it out here if you want to see what that is all about.

  1. P.S. I Love You (2:04)

  2. Please Please Me (2:01)

  3. Ask Me Why (2:27)

  4. Thank You Girl (2:04)

  5. I'll Get You (Mono) (2:06)

  6. This Boy (2:16)

  7. I Saw Her Standing There (2:54)

  8. You Can't Do That (2:35)

  9. Things We Said Today (2:35)

  10. I Should Have Known Better (2:43)

  11. She's A Woman (3:03)

  12. I Don't Want To Spoil The Party (2:34)

  13. Yes It Is (2:42)

  14. I'm Down (2:34)

  15. Act Naturally (2:30)

  16. Nowhere Man (2:44)

  17. What Goes On (2:49)

  18. Rain (3:01)

  19. Strawberry Fields Forever (4:07)

  20. Baby You're A Rich Man (3:01)

  21. I Am The Walrus (4:36)

  22. The Inner Light (2:36)

  23. Revolution (3:25)

  24. Don't Let Me Down (3:36)

  25. Old Brown Shoe (3:19)

  26. You Know My Name (Look Up The Number) (4:20)

  27. For You Blue (2:32)

VM LOGO 2023.png
bottom of page