top of page

Live At The BBC

UK Release: November 30, 1994

Apple PCSP 726

US Release: December 6, 1994

Capitol CDP-8-31796-2

Produced by: George Martin

Disc One


  1. Beatle Greetings

  2. From Us to You

  3. Riding on a Bus

  4. I Got a Woman

  5. Too Much Monkey Business

  6. Keep Your Hands Off My Baby

  7. I'll Be on My Way

  8. Young Blood

  9. A Shot of Rhythm and Blues

  10. Sure to Fall (In Love with You)

  11. Some Other Guy

  12. Thank You Girl

  13. Sha La La La La!

  14. Baby It's You

  15. That's All Right, Mama

  16. Carol

  17. Soldier of Love (Lay Down Your Arms)

  18. A Little Rhyme

  19. Clarabella

  20. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Cry (Over You)

  21. Crying, Waiting, Hoping

  22. Dear Wack!

  23. You Really Got a Hold on Me

  24. To Know Her Is to Love Her

  25. A Taste of Honey

  26. Long Tall Sally

  27. I Saw Her Standing There

  28. The Honeymoon Song

  29. Johnny B Goode

  30. Memphis, Tennessee

  31. Lucille

  32. Can't Buy Me Love

  33. From Fluff to You

  34. Till There Was You

I was so worried that this would be some bootleg-ish type of album of all songs I'd never heard before, or some muddy sounding Cavern-like set of recordings. But the total opposite was the case. Live At The BBC  was/is amazing! And it was a great precusor to the forthcoming Anthology  sets about to bombard us - which made me more anxious about a Beatles release than ever before. And to me, a decade later, still feel like The first BBC  set and the Anthology  sets are just one big monster box-set package that go hand in hand.


Many hits known commonly in the Beatles circle are presented here with immaculate sound quality equal to the 2009 remasters.


Great popular tracks are present, like: "Ticket To Ride", "Can't Buy Me Love", "I Saw Her Standing There", "Rock and Roll Music", "I Feel Fine", "Kansas City/Hey-Hey-Hey!", "Love Me Do", "All My Loving", "I Feel Fine" are here. Plus some amazing rock tracks, "Sweet Little Sixteen", "Hippy Hippy shake", "Glad All Over", "Johnny B. Goode", "Memphis, Tennessee", "Lucille" are also here.


Apple Records gave us a second set in 2013. Despite being almost two decades later, and sound technology had changed drastically since 1994, Apple remastered this first BBC set to equal the second set, On Air- The Beatles At The BBC, Vol. 2.


Inspired by the long laundry list of bootlegs that saturated the underground market, Live At The BBC  had actually begun as far back as 1982. EMI finally made mention of this set around 1991, finally hitting the shelves by 1994.


Surprisingly, or many not so surprising, Live At The BBC  hit #3 on Billboard Album charts and reached #1 on the U.K. album charts. By its first year of release (November of 1995), it was reported that the album had sold just beyond 8 million copies and was nominated for a Grammy for Historic Recording. 

Disc Two


  1. Crinsk Dee Night

  2. A Hard Day's Night

  3. Have a Banana!

  4. I Wanna Be Your Man

  5. Just a Rumour

  6. Roll Over Beethoven

  7. All My Loving

  8. Things We Said Today

  9. She's a Woman

  10. Sweet Little Sixteen

  11. 1822!

  12. Lonesome Tears in My Eyes

  13. Nothin' Shakin'

  14. The Hippy Hippy Shake

  15. Glad All Over

  16. I Just Don't Understand

  17. So How Come (No One Loves Me)

  18. I Feel Fine

  19. I'm a Loser

  20. Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby

  21. Rock and Roll Music

  22. Ticket to Ride

  23. Dizzy, Miss Lizzy

  24. Kansas City/Hey-Hey-Hey-Hey!

  25. Set Fire to That Lot!

  26. Matchbox

  27. I Forgot to Remember to Forget

  28. Love These Goon Shows!

  29. I Got to Find My Baby

  30. Ooh! My Soul

  31. Ooh! My Arms

  32. Don't Ever Change

  33. Slow Down

  34. Honey Don't

  35. Love Me Do

Disc One


  1. And Here We Are Again

  2. Words of Love

  3. How About It, Gorgeous?

  4. Do You Want to Know a Secret

  5. Lucille

  6. Hey, Paul...

  7. Anna (Go to Him)

  8. Hello!

  9. Please Please Me

  10. Misery

  11. I'm Talking About You

  12. A Real Treat

  13. Boys

  14. Absolutely Fab

  15. Chains

  16. Ask Me Why

  17. Till There Was You

  18. Lend Me Your Comb

  19. Lower 5E

  20. Hippy Hippy Shake

  21. Roll Over Beethoven

  22. There's a Place

  23. Bumper Bundle

  24. P.S. I Love You

  25. Please Mister Postman

  26. Beautiful Dreamer

  27. Devil in Her Heart

  28. The 49 Weeks

  29. Sure to Fall (in Love with You)

  30. Never Mind, Eh?

  31. Twist and Shout

  32. Bye, Bye

  33. John – Pop Profile

  34. George – Pop Profile

Disc Two


  1. I Saw Her Standing There

  2. Glad All Over

  3. Lift Lid Again

  4. I'll Get You

  5. She Loves You

  6. Memphis, Tennessee

  7. Happy Birthday Dear Saturday Club

  8. Now Hush, Hush

  9. From Me to You

  10. Money (That's What I Want)

  11. I Want to Hold Your Hand

  12. Brian Bathtubes

  13. This Boy

  14. If I Wasn't in America

  15. I Got a Woman

  16. Long Tall Sally

  17. If I Fell

  18. A Hard Job Writing Them

  19. And I Love Her

  20. Oh, Can't We? Yes We Can

  21. You Can't Do That

  22. Honey Don't

  23. I'll Follow the Sun

  24. Green with Black Shutters

  25. Kansas City/Hey-Hey-Hey-Hey!

  26. That's What We're Here For

  27. I Feel Fine (Studio outtake sequence)

  28. Paul – Pop Profile

  29. Ringo – Pop Profile

After nearly two decades in the waiting, Apple Corp. released this second set of BBC recordings, all beautifully mastered. Like the first BBC set in 1994, all tracks were taken from many original BBC Radio recordings. And due to the decades long difference in sound quality, Apple remastered the first BBC set to match this set equally.


On Air - Live At The BBC, Vol. 2  was again filled with many known popular cuts, "Twist and Shout", "Roll Over Beethoven", "You Can't Do That", She Loves You", "Please Please Me", "I Want To Hold Your Hand", "From Me To You", "i'll Follow The Sun", "Please Mr. Postman", "And I Love Her" mixed with some really great rockin' tracks.


This one actually hit #1 on the Billboard Rock Album charts and #7 on the Billboard Album charts. However, this time it only hit #12 on the U.K. album charts and #7 on the Canadian album charts.

Released: November 11, 2013

Apple, Capitol and UMe 3749169

Produced by Jeff Jones, Mike Heatley & Kevin Howlett

VM LOGO 2023.png
bottom of page