top of page

The Beatles (The White Album)

UK Release: November 22, 1968

Apple Records PMC 7067-8 (Mono) ● PCS 7067-8 (Stereo)

US Release: November 25, 1968

Apple Records SWBO 101 (Stereo Only)

Produced by: George Martin

Side One


  1. Back in the U.S.S.R.

  2. Dear Prudence

  3. Glass Onion

  4. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da

  5. Wild Honey Pie

  6. The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill

  7. While My Guitar Gently Weeps

  8. Happiness Is a Warm Gun


Side Two


  1. Martha My Dear

  2. I'm So Tired

  3. Blackbird

  4. Piggies

  5. Rocky Raccoon

  6. Don't Pass Me By

  7. Why Don't We Do It in the Road?

  8. I Will

  9. Julia

Side Three


  1. Birthday

  2. Yer Blues

  3. Mother Nature's Son

  4. Everybody's Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey

  5. Sexy Sadie

  6. Helter Skelter

  7. Long, Long, Long


Side Four


  1. Revolution 1

  2. Honey Pie

  3. Savoy Truffle

  4. Cry Baby Cry

  5. Revolution 9

  6. Good Night

Additional Musicians:


• Eric Clapton – lead guitar on “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”

• Mal Evans – backing vocals and handclaps on “Dear Prudence”, handclaps on “Birthday”, trumpet on “Helter Skelter”

• Jack Fallon – violin on “Don't Pass Me By”

• Pattie Harrison – backing vocals on “Birthday”

• Jackie Lomax – backing vocals and handclaps on “Dear Prudence”

• Maureen Starkey – backing vocals on “The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill”

• Yoko Ono – backing vocals, lead vocals and handclaps on “The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill”, backing vocals on “Birthday”, speech, tapes and sound effects on “Revolution 9”


Session Musicians:


• Ted Barker – trombone on “Martha My Dear”

• Leon Calvert – trumpet and flugelhorn on “Martha My Dear”

• Henry Datyner, Eric Bowie, Norman Lederman and Ronald Thomas – violin on “Glass Onion”

• Bernard Miller, Dennis McConnell, Lou Soufier and Les Maddox – violin on “Martha My Dear”

• Reginald Kilby – cello on “Glass Onion” and “Martha My Dear”

• Eldon Fox – cello on “Glass Onion”

• Frederick Alexander – cello on “Martha My Dear”

• Harry Klein – saxophone on “Savoy Truffle” and “Honey Pie”

• Dennis Walton, Ronald Chamberlain, Jim Chest and Rex Morris – saxophone on “Honey Pie”

• Raymond Newman and David Smith – clarinet on “Honey Pie”

• Art Ellefson, Danny Moss and Derek Collins – tenor sax on “Savoy Truffle”

• Ronnie Ross and Bernard George – baritone sax on “Savoy Truffle”

• Alf Reece – tuba on “Martha My Dear”

• The Mike Sammes Singers – backing vocals on “Good Night”

• Stanley Reynolds and Ronnie Hughes – trumpet on “Martha My Dear”

• Chris Shepard – stumpf fiddle on “The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill”

• Tony Tunstall – French horn on “Martha My Dear”

• John Underwood and Keith Cummings – viola on “Glass Onion”

• Leo Birnbaum and Henry Myerscough – viola on “Martha My Dear”

Officially titled, The Beatles, but known as The White Album (for obvious reasons). The album hit #1 in Australia, Canada, France, Norway, Germany, the U.K. and the U.S. The White Album even hit #4 in Japan in 1987 when the CDs were released and returned to the U.S. Billboard Top 10 in 2009 with the remasters when it hit #7. And as of now, The Beatles' White Album has been reported to sell over 9 million copies just in the U.S. alone.


"Hey Jude" and its B-Side, "Revolution" were recorded during these sessions. Also recorded for the album, George Harrison's "Not Guilty" - which was re-recorded for his 1979 album, George Harrison. The original session recording was made available on The Beatles' Anthology 3 and Anthology Highlights.


Most notable: The White Album is the first Beatles album to be released on their newly formed Apple Records.

VM LOGO 2023.png
bottom of page