top of page

Yellow Submarine

US Release: January 17, 1969

Apple Records SW 153

UK Release: January 17, 1969

Parlophone Records PMC 7070 (Mono) ● PCS 7070 (Stereo)

Produced by: George Martin

Side One


  1. Yellow Submarine

  2. Only a Northern Song *

  3. All Together Now

  4. Hey Bulldog

  5. It's All Too Much *

  6. All You Need Is Love


All songs by Lennon/McCartney, except * by George Harrison

Side Two: Orchestral film score


  1. Pepperland

  2. Sea of Time

  3. Sea of Holes

  4. Sea of Monsters

  5. March of the Meanies

  6. Pepperland Laid Waste

  7. Yellow Submarine in Pepperland **


All songs composed by George Martin, except ** by Lennon/McCartney (arranged by George Martin)

Yellow Submarine  is the soundtrack to The Beatles 3rd movie, or first cartoon. it was released mainly as a contractual obligation and seen as the soundtrack to the full length animation of the same name. 


This less-than-stellar soundtrack is filled with many quickly thrown together songs, and a couple of previously released tracks, namely: "All You Need Is Love", "It's All Too Much" and "Yellow Submarine" and "Only A Northern Song"


The new songs, "All Together Now" and "Hey Bulldog" were neither released as a single. Most feel that "All Together Now" is possibly the worst song the Beatles could have recorded - but at the same time, "Hey Bulldog" is seen as one of the most underrated songs, not only in the Beatles catalog, but of all time. A video was put together for "Hey Bulldog"


Note: "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds", from Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, was included in the film, and heard on the original 1969 8-Track tape, but left off of the soundtrack. It was later re-assigned for the remastered Yellow Submarine Songtrack in 1999 [PICTURED BELOW].

Yellow Submarine Songtrack

UK Release: September 17, 1999

Apple 521 4811 (UK LP) ● Apple 521 4812 (UK CD)

US Release: September 14, 1999

Capitol CDP-5-21481-2

Produced by: George Martin

Side 1


  1. Yellow Submarine

  2. Hey Bulldog

  3. Eleanor Rigby

  4. Love You To

  5. All Together Now

  6. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds

  7. Think For Yourself

  8. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band

  9. With A Little Help From My Friends

Side 2


  1. Baby You're A Rich Man

  2. Only A Northern Song

  3. All You Need Is Love

  4. When I'm Sixty-Four

  5. Nowhere Man

  6. It's All Too Much

Despite not being on the original 1969 soundtrack, songs appear here from the original film, Yellow Submarine. These tracks were superbly remixed and remastered for this 1999 release, although these masters would not be reissued for the 2009 and 2010 remasters. Most anticipated was the track, "Hey Bulldog", garnering a renewed interest in the song via the video streaming website, YouTube. Ten years later, in 2009, the original 1969 soundtrack would see a new remaster. 

VM LOGO 2023.png
bottom of page